The company said it is now “introducing a new privacy setting and invite system to help you decide who can add you to groups.”

If you are a constant user of WhatsApp, you may have been added to several groups even without your permission.

In some cases you get frustrated by the constant messages and activities on the pages of some of these groups you simply are not interested in.

Well WhatsApp has announced some changes that will help address the issue.

In a statement on its blog, the company said “WhatsApp groups continue to connect family, friends, coworkers, classmates and more. As people turn to groups for important conversations, users have asked for more control over their experience.”

The company said it is now “introducing a new privacy setting and invite system to help you decide who can add you to groups.”

So how does it work?

WhatsApp said to activate these settings users must “go toSettingsin your app, then tapAccount>Privacy>Groupsand select one of three options: “Nobody”, “My Contacts”, or “Everyone”.

“Nobody” means you’ll have to approve joining every group to which you’re invited, and “My Contacts” means only users you have in your address book can add you to groups.

The statement explained that “In those cases, the person adding you to a group will be prompted to send a private invite through an individual chat, giving you the choice of joining the group. You’ll have three days to accept the invite before it expires.”

WhatsApp said “with these new features, users will have more control over the group messages they receive.”

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here